VIRTUELLE FACHBIBLIOTHEK GERMANISTIK Germanistik im Netz Logo

Wer-Was-Wo - Detailanzeige

Ergebnisanzeige "Emblems and the Natural World (1500-1700)"
RessourcentypCall for Papers
TitelEmblems and the Natural World (1500-1700)
BeschreibungSince its invention by Alciato (Emblematum liber, 1531), the emblem is inextricably connected to Natural History. Alciato and his followers massively drew their themes and inspiration from the natural world, as is evidenced by Henkel and Schöne’s Emblemata. Handbuch zur Sinnbildkunst (1967). For their information about the natural world, the early modern emblematists were greatly indebted to ancient, medieval and early modern textual and/or pictorial traditions. These traditions include ancient natural history (Aristotle, Pliny a.o.), the Bible and its commentators and illustrators, the medieval encyclopaedists (Albertus Magnus, Thomas de Cantimpré a.o.), the Physiologus and its offspring, the medieval bestiaries, and the 15th- and 16th-century emblematic antecedents (book illustrations, proto-emblematics). Since the 1550s the natural world regularly became the emblems’ main topic, as can be seen in emblem books solely consecrated to Natural History: Barthélemy Aneau’s Decades de la description des animaux (1549), Guillaume Guéroult’s Blason des oyseaux (1550) and Joachim Camerarius’s Symbolorum et Emblematum Centuriae Quattuor (1590-1604). Animals are also the main topic of the so-called emblematic fable books in the tradition of Gilles Corrozet, Marcus Gheeraerts, Aegidius Sadeler, Audin, and the Labyrinthe de Versailles– and their application in paintings, drawings (Joris Hoefnagel), and decorative arts (embroideries, roof- and wall-painting). Emblems on animals are regularly quoted by early modern naturalists like Gessner and Aldrovandi , and integrated into their encyclopedic volumes on natural history. The emblem’s protean connections with the natural world had – rightly or wrongly – led modern historians of science to coin the term “emblematic worldview”. The conference Emblems and the Natural World aims to address these multiple connections between emblematics and Natural History in the broader perspective of their underlying ideologies – scientific, artistic, literary, political and/or religious, and from the point of view of various disciplines: Neo-Latin, German, French, English Studies, philology of various languages, art history, book history, history of religion and of philosophy, and the history of science.

Deadline: 31.01.2015
Quelle der BeschreibungInformation des Anbieters
Internetadressehttp://h-net.msu.edu/cgi-bin/logbrowse.pl?trx=vx&list=H-Germanistik&mo...
Bewerbungsschluss31.01.2015
Beginn17.12.2015
Ende18.12.2015
PersonName: Prof. Dr. Karl Enenkel 
Funktion: Organisator 
E-Mail: emblemsandthenaturalworld2015@uni-muenster.de 
Name: Prof. Dr. Paul J. Smith 
Funktion: Organisator 
E-Mail: emblemsandthenaturalworld2015@uni-muenster.de 
KontaktdatenName/Institution: Seminar für Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit 
Strasse/Postfach: Bogenstr. 15/16 
Postleitzahl: 48143 
Stadt: Münster 
Telefon: 0251/8324130 
Fax: 0251/8324131 
E-Mail: emblemsandthenaturalworld2015@uni-muenster.de 
Internetadresse: https://www.uni-muenster.de/Mittellatein/ 
LandDeutschland
BenutzerführungEnglisch
SchlüsselbegriffeHistorische Semantik (Wissensgeschichte, Mentalitätsgeschichte, Ideengeschichte); Literatur 1500 - 1580; Literatur 1580 - 1700; Medien- u. Kommunikationsgeschichte (Hand-, Druckschrift, Film, Rundfunk, Computerspiel usw.); Motiv- u. Stoffgeschichte
Ediert von  H-Germanistik
Ein Angebot vonGermanistik im Netz
URL dieses Wer-Was-Wo-Datensatzeshttp://www.germanistik-im-netz.de/wer-was-wo/43856

© Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Germanistik | Letzte Änderung 16.01.2015 | Impressum | Intern